Food Tuesday: Pumpkin Bread

As soon as the weather gets fall-like, cool days, chilly nights, beautiful fall colors… I start baking. I love to bake. Some of my friends make fun of me because I suddenly become that mom who has fresh cookies or muffins waiting when her kids come home from school. For those of you who really know me – that’s a laughable thought, me dancing around the kitchen with baked goods. But I digress… because I do love to bake. And it seems appropriate that I give you one of my fall favorites today: Pumpkin Bread!

I got this receipe from a very good friend when she heard I was craving all things pumpkin one fall (I get like that , lately it’s with sweet potatoes too but that’s another food tuesday post). She got it from the Betty Crocker Bread Machine Cookbook. I believe in big portions so I’ll give you the 2 pound recipe – if you want the smaller one (sissy) go find the book.

Pumpkin Bread
1 cup canned pumpkin (pumpkin – not pumpkin pie filling – pumpkin)
1/2 cup plus 2 TB water
3/4 tsp vanilla
2 TB butter, softened
4 cups bread flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (see note at end)
1 3/4 tsp bread machine or quick active dry yeast

Measure carefully, placing all ingredients in the bread machine pan in the order recommended by the manufacturer.

Select the sweet or basic/white cycle on your machine with the light crust color. Do not delay the cycle.

Remove baked bread when the machine beeps and eat it hot. It’s really yummy with some apple butter too.

note: if you don’t have pumpkin pie spice: mix 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1/8 tsp allspice and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. voila! pumpkin pie spice

4 thoughts on “Food Tuesday: Pumpkin Bread

  1. Pingback: NWI Parent

Leave a Reply

