Food Tuesday: Corn Bread & Sausage Dressing

Thanksgiving is next week and while I’m not responsible for the main course I do bring a few desserts and one side each year. So this week & next I thought I’d share a few of my Thanksgiving standards. This recipe came out of a magazine I think, but I’ve had it long enough that I’ve made a few tweaks and rewritten it on one of my own index cards. It’s yummy and each year I wonder why I only make it on Thanksgiving.

Corn Bread Sausage Dressing
18 corn muffins (I use Jiffy mix: cheap, easy & reliable)
1 lb sage sausage
1 medium to large onion, diced
2 celery ribs, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 cup of frozen corn
3 cups of chicken broth (you might need a little extra)
1.5 tsp thyme
1.5 tsp sage
0.5 tsp rosemary
1/4 cup of parsley
2 eggs

1. Cook the corn bread the night before and leave it out to dry (or leave it out about 4 hours if you forget to make it the night before)
2. Crumble the corn bread into a large bowl.
3. In a large saute pan, brown & crumble the sausage. With a slotted spoon move the cooked sausage to a plate lined with paper towels. Drain all but 1 TB of fat/drippings from the skillet. In that skillet now cook the onion, celery & pepper for about 5 minutes or until soft. Preheat the oven to 350 now too.
4. In the saute pan stir in corn, 2 cups of the broth, herbs and some salt & pepper. Bring to a simmer, stirring often, and pour over the corn bread that’s in the big bowl. Mix gently but well. Add sausage & parsley and mix some more.
5. Whisk together the eggs and remaining 1 cup of broth. Pour over the dressing and mix well – it should be very moist, if not add more broth.
6. Bake in a covered casserole for 30 minutes.

If you’re making it ahead and reheating it for dinner, add some extra broth before reheating so it doesn’t dry out.

2 thoughts on “Food Tuesday: Corn Bread & Sausage Dressing

Leave a Reply

