after school snack

I admit it. I’m one of those moms who often has a fresh baked snack ready for my kids when they come home from school. Muffins, some sort of quick bread, sometimes cookies. I like to bake. That also means that when the church calls for their twice a year bake sale I always volunteer to make something. The church bake sale is today so yesterday I needed to put on my baking hat. I decided to take my very popular chocolate chip banana bread and, with the help of the basic muffin recipe in my trusty Better Homes & Gardens cookbook, tweak it a bit to make muffins:

IMG_3203

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins
1 3/4 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp lemon zest
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup cooking oil
1-2 ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup chocolate chips

1. In a mixing bowl combine the flour, baking powder, sugar, lemon zest & salt. Make a well in the center.

2. In a separate bowl combine the egg, milk, cooking oil and mashed banana. Mix well and add all at once to the dry mixture. Stir until just moistened (batter will be lumpy) and then fold in your chocolate chips.

3. Grease your muffin tin and fill each 2/3 full. Bake at 400 degrees 18-20 minutes, until firm & golden. Makes 10-12 muffins.

5 thoughts on “after school snack

  1. Pingback: NWI Parent

Leave a Reply

