food thursday: apple crisp

Finally we’ve had some beautiful fall days – blue skies, crisp weather, colorful leaves and last weekend we went apple picking! Fresh apples are so yummy and it was a great way to spend half an hour or so Sunday afternoon. I don’t mind having that many apples lying around because I like to bake with them. Prime example: I’ve made this apple crisp twice in the past 5 days. It’s a good thing we polished off the frozen vanilla yogurt or I probably would have made it again last night. It’s easy. It makes the house smell soooooo good. And well, it’s awfully yummy served with frozen vanilla yogurt. (yes, ice cream works too)

I took some pictures. I was messing around with the exposure and the flash so they aren’t the best pictures. I debated posting them at all… but then I figured I’d post them in a small size so maybe the slight off-focus nature of them won’t drive you crazy.

This started as a recipe from the tried & true Better Homes & Garden Cookbook – the perfect gift for anyone moving into their first home in my opinion!

Apple Crisp

3-4 apples, peeled & thinly sliced
3 TB sugar
3/4 cup regular rolled oats
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 cup butter (aka half the stick)

1. Put your thinly sliced apples in a round baking dish (I use a cake pan). Sprinkle the sugar on top and stir to coat evenly.

Look here's a slightly blurry picture of this step
Look here's a slightly blurry picture of this step

2. In a medium-size mixing bowl, make your topping. Combine the oats thru nutmeg and stir it together a bit to mix. Then cut in the butter. (I like to cut it into small cubes and then use my pastry cutter to mix it in, you could also use a fork. The idea is to get the topping to look like coarse crumbs – you don’t want any cubes of butter hanging around uncoated.)

I love getting this tool out of the drawer
I love getting this tool out of the drawer

3. Sprinkle the topping over the apples and bake at 375 for 35 minutes or until the topping is a golden brown and bubbling around the edges.
IMG_3294

4. Serve it warm with frozen vanilla yogurt. Or ice cream.
IMG_3295

This is also excellent with peaches and would probably work with cherries, plums or other tree fruits.

Leave a Reply

