food thursday: pumpkin cookies

Yesterday I came up with a fun way to keep my lists of five going this week. I was going to give you a recipe today with just five ingredients. But that recipe is for a crock pot and I’ve been doing crock pot recipes a lot lately. So I decided it was boring to do that after all. Besides there’s a recipe I’ve been wanting to share and it’s kind of seasonal so now is as good a time as any.

Pumpkin cookies. Yes, you can make them year round but there is just something about the fall that makes me want to put pumpkin in as many things as possible. I make a mean pumpkin muffin and I’ve got a great pumpkin bread recipe (for the bread maker no less!). But a few weeks ago I went on the hunt for a good pumpkin cookie recipe. I’m happy to say, I found it. I’ve only made one tiny change to this recipe – its original can be found on Pioneer Woman’s Tasty Kitchen website (a great resource for all sorts of recipes).

Here is THE pumpkin cookie recipe. Approved by my kids, my cheerleaders who received them as a post-game reward, and myself. Mmmmm

2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup shortening
1 cup sugar
1 cup pumpkin
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 a bag of mini-chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 350
2. Sift the first five ingredients together in a medium size bowl, set aside.
3. In a large mixing bowl cream the sugar and shortening, then add the pumpkin and blend well. Add the egg and vanilla, mix well.
4. Gently stir in the dry ingredients, a little at a time until you have a nice smooth batter. Stir in your chocolate chips.
5. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto a cookie sheet and bake for around 12 minutes.

These might be the fluffiest cookies I’ve ever made. Be gentle with the dough and yours will be too. Mmmm…. I love pumpkin treats!

Note: be sure you buy canned pumpkin NOT pumpkin pie mix.

Hey – there are five steps in the recipe so that still works in my lists of five! wahoo!

3 thoughts on “food thursday: pumpkin cookies

Leave a Reply

