missing my pecan pie

We celebrate Thanksgiving each year with my brother’s family. Additional characters are sometimes present but the main cast is always my brother’s family and ours. It’s a very casual (and delicious) feast and it has become one of my most favorite holidays. In recent years my Dad and his wife have joined us and they usually bring my grandma along for the ride. It’s been very nice to share this holiday with my grandma, even if she does make fun of our green bean casserole. I like talking her into a post-dinner stroll with me too. And when grandma comes for Thanksgiving she brings pies… specifically her pecan pie.

I can make a lot of things in the kitchen; however, pie is not my strong suit. And since I know how bad pecan pie really is for you this is the one and only time of year I eat it. Here’s my dilemma… my dad is on vacation this holiday, which means my grandma isn’t coming, which means no. pecan. pie. Sigh… I’ve been searching in my cookbooks and online for a few days to see if I can come up with a substitute dessert that will satisfy my pecan cravings. I’ve decided not to make a pie (aside from the fact that I don’t make a good one, I’d just be comparing it to grandma’s and then be disappointed). Instead I’m going to try my hand at pecan pie squares – here’s a recipe I’ve pieced together from a few sources. I rarely post a recipe here before trying it out and making it my own – but there’s no way I’ll make this two weeks in a row so you’ll all just have to experiment with me! And since my grandma usually reads this blog (hi grandma!) maybe she’ll give me a tip or two if the recipe doesn’t look good.

Pecan Pie Squares
Crust:
3 cups flour
3/4 cup butter, cut into small cubes
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
Filling:
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups light corn syrup
3 TB butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups chopped pecans

1. Preheat the oven to 350.
2. Make the crust: in a large bowl mix the dry crust ingredients and cut in the butter until mixture is crumbly. Press firmly into a well-greased 9×13 pan. Bake about 20 minutes until golden brown.
3. Make the filling: in a large bowl mix all filling ingredients except pecans until well blended. Stir in the pecans.
4. Pour the filling over the baked crust layer while it is still hot. Spread evenly and bake approx 30 minutes or until filling is set. Cool completely before serving.

Good thing my brother’s family loves me and won’t mind if I experiment a bit! (Wondering what else I bring to the Thanksgiving table? Use the pretty little search box on the right and look for my Corn Bread & Sausage Dressing recipe and my recipe for Pumpkin Squares. Mmmmm)

4 thoughts on “missing my pecan pie

  1. Hi Barb,
    Your Aunt BJ use to make something like that but the crust was very thin. any good luck I sure you will like it.
    However I will make your pecan Pie for Christmas and apple pie as well, your Dad just ask me to come with them on the 19th
    sure like your dressing that you make for thanksgiving.
    Kelli is moving to Seatlle sat. she has apartment down town seattle.
    enjoy
    Love
    Grandma Pauline

  2. Pingback: NWI Parent

Leave a Reply

