coddle revisited and joined by beer bread

Have you ever been to the Irish Lion in Bloomington, Indiana? It is one of my favorite places to eat. The food… the half-yards of beer… the long tables upstairs… makes me wish I were in Bton right now. And no matter what time of day I’m there, I have to order a bowl of their coddle. What’s coddle? To quote their menu: a house stew with potatoes, sausage, bacon and onions. Typical Dublin pub food that’s supposed to prevent a hangover. I’ve been experimenting with my own coddle recipe for a while now, I posted it back in March of this year but I’ve still been messing with it and I improved it a bit on my last attempt. You want some comfort food? I’ve got your comfort food right here.

Coddle
8 smoked sausages
8 slices of bacon, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 large onion, thinly sliced
2 TB corn starch
4 medium-size, Yukon gold potatoes, peeled & chopped
3-4 carrots, peeled & chopped
8oz sliced mushrooms
32oz of beef broth
1 bottle of Guinness Stout
2 tsp thyme
2 TB butter

1. Grill your sausage and cut it into half rounds. Set aside.

2. In a large soup pot, fry up your bacon over medium high heat. Once crisp, remove from pan with a slotted spoon. Set aside.

3. In the drippings, saute the onion & garlic until soft. Stir in 2 TB of corn starch and make a medium roux.

4. Add your chopped potatoes, carrots and mushrooms. Stir to mix all the flavors and cook for 3-5 minutes to soften up the veggies.

5. Add the thyme, Guiness and broth, bring to a boil. Then add your sausage and bacon back to the mix. Stir well, cover and simmer for at least an hour. About 2 minutes before serving, stir in 2 TB of butter… because butter makes everything better.

This is fantastic served with beer bread, esp beer bread made with Guiness. And yes, as a matter of fact I have a recipe for that too. It’s like super bonus day isn’t it?

Beer Bread
All credit to FoodMomiac for this one
3 cups flour
3 TB sugar
1 TB baking powder
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 bottle beer
1 stick of butter, melted

Combine the first five ingredients. Add half of the butter and stir until it’s all mixed. Pour half of the remaining butter into the bottom of your loaf pan. Add the batter to the loaf pan, top with the rest of the butter and bake at 375 for one hour.

I could have made a meal just from the bread dipped in the coddle. Mmmmmmm.

Bonus Recipe Alert! On my NWI Times blog I posted a kid-friendly (and delicious for all ages) Baked Mac & Cheese recipe.

4 thoughts on “coddle revisited and joined by beer bread

    1. It’s thick but could stand to be thicker – more potatoes would probably do the trick. Let me know how yours comes out and what you tweaked!

  1. Hello!

    I have gone to the Irish Lion many times and I adore the Coddle! However….this recipe does not taste at all like the Coddle, which I was really disappointed in. Don’t get me wrong….this recipe isn’t bad……but it sure does not taste like coddle. Are you sure you are not referring to another stew they have there?

Leave a Reply

