Food Thursday: Apple Dumplings

I recently accompanied my son on a school field trip to the apple orchard. I love picking apples and the kids and I will certainly hit the orchard in a couple of weeks to get a few different varieties. This means that for the next month or so I’ll have apples coming out of my ears. I can keep some of them good for quite a while in the crisper drawer of the outside fridge – I keep that fridge very cold. And when the weather turns cold, I’ll keep some of them in a bag in the garage and they’ll stay good for a couple more weeks. But some of those apples are just destined for baking!

I think I might make apple muffins this afternoon but this weekend I’m busting out the serious baking bowls to make some apple dumplings. This recipe is my mother’s who probably got it from one of her relatives. I can’t make apple pie (or any pie) worth a darn but dumplings? I got those down pat.

Apple Dumplings
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup water
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
3 TB butter
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
2/3 cup shortening
1/2 cup milk
6 medium apples, peeled & cored
cinnamon & sugar
3 TB butter, cut into 6 chunks

1. Mix sugar, water, cinnamon & nutmeg in a saucepan and bring to a slow boil. Remove from heat and add the butter. Cover & set aside.

2. Sift together the flour & baking powder then cut in the shortening until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add milk and stir just until moist. On a lightly floured surface roll the dough into a rectangle approx 18×12 inches.

3. Cut into six squares and place an apple on each. Sprinkle apples generously with cinnamon & sugar. Place a pat of butter on each. Bring corners of pastry up to cover the apple and pinch edges together – moisten pastry with water to help stick together if need be.

4. Place in a greased 9×13 baking pan. Take the syrup you made earlier, stir in the now melted butter, and pour it over the top. Bake at 375 for 35 minutes or until apples are easily pierced by a fork.

I remember my dad used to put one in a bowl and add a little milk at the bottom. I think they are even better served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Apple dumplings make fall an even nicer time of year :) Mmmmm

3 thoughts on “Food Thursday: Apple Dumplings

Leave a Reply

