A month of gratitude week #2: Running

As I’m getting ready to pack my bags and head to the magical world of Disney for my fourth half marathon of the year, I have a lot on my mind… and all of it has to do with running. I’ve been a fairly active exerciser most of my life but running is still something that feels new to me. I remember very clearly how my first runs felt just 3.5 years ago. I distinctly remember how hard it was just three years ago to push myself to the four mile mark. It was almost exactly three years ago today that I set my first actual running challenge – to run a half marathon. It made me nauseous just thinking about it. But I did it. And here I am today ready to complete my fourth half of the year to accomplish my personal challenge of a half every season.

For me, running has never been just another way to workout. It’s been a journey, a proving ground and a challenge – every step of the way.

Today I am thankful for running because…

  • It makes me – the girl who was almost always picked last for a team – feel like an athlete.
  • It sets an example for my kids that I hope will last a lifetime.
  • It makes me feel strong – physically and mentally.
  • It has taught me how to push myself beyond myself.
  • It has brought me wonderful friends.
  • It has taken me places I never thought I’d go – running along beaches, through Disney parks :), and across finish lines of 5Ks, 10Ks, 15Ks, half marathons, triathlons and even a marathon.
  • It gives me an active hobby to pursue with my children.
  • It makes me a better person.
  • I have always been a goal setter and running feeds the need I have to set a challenge and meet it.

Running has never been easy for me and maybe that’s why I’m so thankful for all the gifts I’ve discovered over the miles.

6 thoughts on “A month of gratitude week #2: Running

  1. So proud of you and happy for all of your accomplishments!! As a person who was also always picked last and has started running less than two years ago, I see so much of myself in you. Thanks for giving voice to my gratitude. Thanks for inspiring me to reach for new goals. You’re an inspiration!!

  2. Love this. And also: “Running has never been easy for me and maybe that’s why I’m so thankful for all the gifts I’ve discovered over the miles”….Running may be “easier” for some people than for others, but if it is ever “easy” then you aren’t doing it right. That is the amazing thing about running, it meets you where ever you are in the journey, it is like differentiation for the soul.

Leave a Reply

