I hate my house alarm

I’m not sure I would have installed a house alarm myself but when we moved in, there it was. It seemed silly not to activate it and I think we get a break on our house insurance for it too. I love my house alarm when we are on vacation. The rest of the year, I hate it.

Literally every time I set the alarm I cringe a bit. Even setting it seems loud to me. And, being a light sleeper, just the thought of it going off can make it hard to fall asleep. It is amazingly, screechingly, ear-splittingly loud. Which of course is part of the point but that doesn’t mean I have to like it.

So picture this: It’s 3:44 a.m. and I wake up. I don’t know why so I stop to listen for a second… no, none of the kids are walking around so everything is fine. And then I hear a “chirp.” It’s the alarm notification chirp. Not the alarm going off mind you (remember that’s loud enough to make my ear drums explode) but there it goes again… chirp.

I get out of bed to stare at the alarm panel. A unit has a low battery. I know this, it chirped at me last week but I haven’t had time to do anything about it so I bypassed that unit and all seemed peaceful. Until 3:44 this morning. Because all alarm systems need to tell me something is wrong in the middle of the night of course.

I don’t know what to do so I layer 4-5 layers of masking tape over the speaker on the panel and go back to bed.

Chirp.

There isn’t enough masking tape in the world to stop me from hearing it.

Chirp.

I try to do some yoga breathing and focus on the sound of my breath.

Chirp.

I try to plan out my day in detail… say a few prayers… something to help me focus on my inner voice.

Chirp.

I contemplate just getting out of bed, after all I have a lot to do. But I am stubborn and I know I need more sleep.

Chirp.

I remember looking at the clock at 4:48 and telling myself that if I looked one more time I was getting up. Somehow I dozed off but I still woke up before my alarm went off at 5:40. Because… chirp.

One thought on “I hate my house alarm

  1. At least you don’t have a dog that is scared to death of the chirp and decides to sit on your head at 3:44 and won’t leave until the chirping stops! I had to get up and change the battery to get her off the bed. Can’t they make alarms that don’t need batteries so they won’t chirp?

Leave a Reply

