My good friend denial

I’ve been living in a state of denial this week. Marching steadily along, stubbornly denying that Christmas is less than a week away.

  • I still have gifts to buy (for the people I’m celebrating with a few days early… I wouldn’t want to be prepared too far in advance after all)
  • No cookies have been baked
  • No presents have been wrapped
  • I just mailed out my Christmas cards yesterday

I have honestly never been this far behind, this close to the actual holiday. And yet, I’m not stressed. I’m tired. Very tired. I’m worn out just thinking of all that needs to be done in the next 48 hours before guests and celebrations arrive. But I’m not stressed.

I don’t know if it’s the realization that I wrote about earlier this week – imperfectly perfect might be my new holiday theme. Or if it’s that I took time (when I honestly didn’t have time to spare) for a weekly Advent scripture sharing group. Or if I’ve finally gone off the deep end. Whatever it is, denial is bringing a fairly peaceful state to my last weekend of scrambling.

Me and my friend denial are going to run out and pick up a few last minute items today… or maybe tomorrow. We’ll write our grocery list for the birthday dinner and Christmas meals and hit the grocery store sometime this weekend. We’ll likely lose some more sleep but denial is a good friend – she will keep me hopping until I collapse on the 26th.

One thought on “My good friend denial

Leave a Reply

