Blessings

If you’ve read my blog for any length of time, then you know that I tend to look for blessings. I actively try to appreciate the graces that I know are all around me. And when I am successful, I find myself less stressed and more in-tune with the world around me. There’s power in little things.

So when I read this point in my morning reflection, I may have gasped. It’s such a tidy little story but it was (to quote Oprah) an Aha! moment:


A rabbi was asked, “What is a blessing?” In response, the rabbi posed a riddle.

He asked, “Why, in chapter one of Genesis, does the Bible not say after the human person was created on the sixth day, ‘God saw that it was good.’” The answer to the riddle is that the Hebrew word translated as “good” is tov, which is better translated as “complete”. We were created “incomplete” . . . and a blessing is anything that helps us grow in “completeness”. Growing in “completeness” is a life-long journey.


I literally read this just a few minutes ago. I don’t have any well-thought out words of reflection on it. I decided to share it at the spur of the moment. But isn’t it lovely? The idea that we are created to be always growing? Always learning… always seeking out the blessings that God has placed all around us.

It’s like we’re on a life-long scavenger hunt. That makes me smile. I hope it makes you smile too.

P.S. – My son just woke up and crawled on my lap for a hug. As he was sitting there, he asked “How big is a microbe?” I told him they are so small that you’d need a microscope to see them. His response, “Good. Do you know how much I love you, mom? I love you as much as all the microbes in all the air and water and everything.”

Microbe love. That’s a blessing. :) :) :)

Leave a Reply

