Tasty Thursday: Cookbook Review

I received some very fun cookbooks for Christmas. I’ve made at least one recipe from each of them and, as I test more, I thought it would be fun to share the successes and make recommendations on the cookbooks I like best. This first recommendation is not a surprise except that when a book gets so much press, I am always suspicious that it’s really that good. The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from An Accidental Country Girl… is really that good.

It’s definitely not in my everyday repertoire because some of the meals take extra time and I am not sure any of them fit in my normal, healthy cooking. However, for a weekend treat I have yet to go wrong. I have made five things from this cookbook in the past few weeks and every single one of them was a huge hit. The pictures are beautiful. Her commentary and stories are fun to read (no surprise since her blog is also). And it even made my family like meatloaf. Scratch that… it made my family LOVE meatloaf. Two of the kids said they may request this for their next birthday dinner. It was goooooooood.

meatloaf
Since she has the recipe on her website, I’m sharing the basics here. But go to Pioneer Woman’s version to see pictures of the whole process.

Pioneer Woman’s Bacon-Wrapped Meatloaf

  • 1 cup Whole Milk
  • 6 slices White Bread
  • 2 pounds Ground Beef
  • 1 cup (heaping) Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon Seasoned Salt
  • 3/4 teaspoons Salt
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/3 cup Minced Flat-leaf Parsley
  • 4 whole Eggs, Beaten
  • 10 slices Thin/regular Bacon

Sauce:

  • 1-1/2 cup Ketchup
  • 1/3 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Dry Mustard
  • Tabasco To Taste

Preparation Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Pour milk over the bread slices. Allow it to soak in for several minutes.
    Place the ground beef, milk-soaked bread, Parmesan, seasoned salt, salt, black pepper, and parsley in a large mixing bowl. Pour in beaten eggs.
  2. With clean hands, mix the ingredients until well combined. Form the mixture into a loaf shape on a broiler pan, which will allow the fat to drain. (Line the bottom of the pan with foil to avoid a big mess!)
  3. Lay bacon slices over the top, tucking them underneath the meatloaf.
  4. Make the sauce: add ketchup, brown sugar, mustard, and hot sauce in a mixing bowl. Stir together. Pour 1/3 of the mixture over the top of the bacon. Spread with a spoon.
  5. Bake for 45 minutes, then pour another 1/3 of the sauce over the top. Bake for another 15 minutes. Slice and serve with remaining sauce.

My only note that differs from this recipe is that I had to cook it an extra 20 minutes. I inserted a meat thermometer after an hour and it wasn’t cooked through.

2 thoughts on “Tasty Thursday: Cookbook Review

  1. That does look yummy. You should also try the meatloaf from http://www.dinneralovestory.com/
    It isn’t on the website, because it is in the cookbook, but I have the cookbook if you want to try it.
    This one also contains spinach and cheese. My family actually loves spinach so this is a good thing, but they don’t really notice it because they are too busy getting excited about the cheese.

Leave a Reply

