A training plan

Last week was the first week of official training for my next race. I didn’t really run any more than I have for the past month but it felt different because I was running a schedule again. I haven’t run a schedule in over three months. After running nothing but a schedule all year last year, I needed a break. While on that break I rediscovered how much I like varying my workouts. And last week I was able to keep mixing things up:

Monday: Ran 3 in the morning and did yoga at night
Tuesday: Speedwork for 4 miles
Wednesday: Hopped on the stationary bike for 15 minutes (and 4 miles) and then ran on the treadmill for 15 minutes (1.5 miles)
Thursday: swam a mile
Friday: long run day and I slipped & slid my way through 6 miles in the snow
Saturday: 2 mile walk with my daughter
Sunday: rested (while doing laundry, running the boy to practice, going to the library and cooking)

I’m hoping I can stick with some nice variety through this whole training cycle. I think I can since I don’t really have any goals for my next race other than having fun and helping my sister run her first half marathon. I’m going to try and focus on the long runs and not sweat the other runs so much. We’ll see what happens.

In the meantime, I’m happy to have my spreadsheet with its nice and orderly columns up again.

One thought on “A training plan

Leave a Reply

