Breakfast Books & Harry Potter

Once upon a time (March of 2009 to be exact), I started reading aloud to my children at the breakfast table. We’ve read some great books together – The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, The Tales of Winnie the Pooh, Charlie & The Chocolate Factory and many more. We were just looking at our past Breakfast Book selections (click on the category drop down list on the right sidebar and select Breakfast Books to see all our posts) and soon we may re-read a few of the ones that J doesn’t remember. He is also interested in reading some of those on his own now which is exciting for his book-loving mother to hear.

Over the years the kids have aged out of my breakfast table because school starts earlier and earlier. When we started, all three kids were present and listening. For the past few years it’s just been me & the boy. (And I’m guessing I only have another year or two with him before he tells me to knock it off.) Since it’s just the two of us, I’ve been able to pick some books that his sisters have read but that he’s not quite ready to read on his own. And that’s what we’ve been doing since I last posted about Breakfast Books back in the fall of 2012. We’ve been reading the Harry Potter series.

It took us 16 months to get through all seven books. They have been some of my favorite mornings ever (and a few nights when J just couldn’t wait until morning to see what happened next). I have enjoyed re-reading these books just as much as I did the first time through. Having J go through this entire series consecutively has definitely strengthened his comprehension skills. And we both read some parts with tears in our eyes and lumps in our throats. It’s been a great 16 months.

In Breakfast Book post tradition, I asked J to grade the Harry Potter series. His answer: “A+ of course. For every book but my top three favorite books in order are: Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows (the 7th); Harry Potter & The Goblet of Fire (4th); and Harry Potter & the Half-Blood Prince (6th).”

We’ve been watching the movie for each book the weekend after we finish reading it so this weekend we’ll be watching the final Harry Potter movie. We’re both looking forward to it. I truly think this is one of the few examples where the movies live up to the books. A movie can never contain the depth and detail of a book, but these movies really bring the series to life in a wonderful way.

I asked J if he wanted to read another series of books or a single book. He said he wants a series and preferably one that is “a little above my reading level.” Up next: The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. (I CAN’T WAIT.)

What is the Breakfast Book idea? I believe there‚Äôs value in reading aloud to my kids at all ages. I used to read aloud to them at night. But as they get older their bedtimes get staggered, practices and homework start happening and sitting down together to read to all of them at once wasn’t happening. I decided to try reading a chapter to them all during breakfast and it has been a big success in many ways. Want to see all our book selections so far? Click on the Breakfast Book category on the right side of this page.

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Books & Harry Potter

  1. Conner and I still read at night. And even though he is very capable of reading, he likes having me read to him still. It is nice time when it is just the two of us. He is currently reading Harry Potter – mostly to himself – and I just get a little bit of the highlights at night. We are on the 5th book right now. And I too will be very sad when I have no more kids to read to.

  2. Amara’s almost done the 2nd Harry Potter book. She prefers to read it alone though. But at least she likes to snuggle with me while we read. I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

