20% of the way there

I officially have one month of marathon training under my belt. With this slow but steady plan I’m following that means I’m 20% of the way through. Good news! I can easily run 20% of the marathon distance (that’s 5.24 miles in case you don’t feel like doing the math).

I’m going to be honest, other than the fact that I’m being very disciplined about my exercise schedule it doesn’t feel like marathon training yet. I think that’s a good thing. Last time I tried this, the training stressed me out. I was nearly frantic trying to get my miles in. This new plan is much less stressful. It probably helps that I have a lot more running experience to fall back on as well. I still have that slightly nauseous feeling when I look at those 16, 18 & 20 mile runs but the rest of the plan feels manageable. That’s good.

I am going to try and check in every four weeks as I work through this training schedule. This check in:

  • Happy to report that I’m consistently lifting weights weekly and doing my PT stretches on an almost daily basis. Hoping next month’s check-in includes regular yoga attendance. That was a big help during last summer’s Olympic Tri training and I know it will help my body stay strong & healthy for the marathon too.
  • I’m loving the run/walk plan. I was afraid it would drive me crazy but the intervals feel great. I’ve done a bit of experimenting and for now I’m sticking with 6/1. Those one minute walk breaks are surprisingly refreshing and really help keep my energy consistent for a longer period of time. Of course the really long tests are still to come.
  • I’m trying to make my first run of the week some sort of challenge – track workouts or hill repeats or hilly routes. I have no pace goals to drive my plan but it feels good to vary the runs when I can.
  • I’m slow. Like, really slow. I consciously tell myself at the start of each run to keep things comfortable and easy. I am focused on building distance and stamina – not speed. I know enough about my body to know that this is the best way for me to train for the marathon. I’m not going to lie though – it’s still discouraging to see some of my paces at the end of a run. However, the current pace I’m running would be perfect on marathon day so I just put my head down and keep with the plan.

One week at a time is the mantra for the next few months.

5 thoughts on “20% of the way there

  1. You are doing great! I’m at those really long runs now and it definitely is starting to feel like marathon training.

    1. I did read that and loved her attitude! Some people are gifted with a talent for running fast. For them – finishing place matters. For the rest of us, who cares where we finish as long as we FINISH. :)

  2. I love how smart you are doing this. That way when you get to those long runs, you will feel great and not tortured. One week at a time.

Leave a Reply

