Zucchini

It’s Tuesday and that means I get to write about food! 🙂 Over the past 6 months I’ve been trying to focus more on local food, particularly fruits & veggies. I’ve always been a big fan of our farmer’s market but I wanted to do something more. I wanted to provide a healthier option for my family while also supporting my local community. So this summer we joined a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture). And I love it!

What’s a CSA? At the beginning of the summer we paid a local, organic farm a certain fee up front (worked out to be $15 per week) and from the end of June thru October we get to share in the farm’s harvest each week. Last week we got squash, broccoli, herbs and kale. The week before we had green tomatoes, lettuce, cucumbers, squash, herbs and carrots. It’s fun to plan my cooking around varied ingredients. We’re trying a few new things that I wouldn’t have bought on my own. And it’s all really good food. If you live in the Crown Point area I highly recommend this farm: Creme de la Crop.

So we’ve been getting a lot of squash lately. Which is great because we all like squash and I’ve made zucchini bread which is another fan favorite around here. Here’s a super easy recipe I adapted from Real Simple magazine that uses squash and chicken – all in one pan!

Feta, Chicken & Zucchini Bake

1. Preheat oven to 400.
2. Spread a bit of olive oil in the bottom of a 9×13 pan and lay 3-4 boneless chicken breasts on top, salt & pepper the chicken.
3. Cut 2 medium zucchini into half moons approx 1/4 inch think. (cut them in half lengthwise, then slice)
4. Toss the zucchini with olive oil, salt, pepper and a splash of lemon juice. Arrange them in the pan all around the chicken.
5. Cover the chicken & zucchini with feta cheese – as much as you like.
6. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Dinner!

5 thoughts on “Zucchini

  1. That is so cool. I need to check into CSA options ’round these parts – I love that idea! The recipe looks fantastic, as does the banana bread one from last week. I know you mentioned that you made it all the time and I was hoping to get a hold of the recipe. 🙂 I’m always on the lookout for the “perfect” banana bread. Don’t get me started on zucchini bread. Mmmmm…

    p.s. love the blog! I’ve been tossing around the idea of one for a long time but can’t decide if I’d have anything interesting to say. 🙂

  2. *jealous*

    Thanks for the link. I hit google right after posting and looked around a bit. I also checked out the link for your CSA and saw the info for Seven Sons Meat Company. That looks promising. I really like the idea of organic meat and they have a South Bend pickup location, so that might be a real possibility for us.

    1. I did a half share and loved it until about mid-September when all we got for the next six weeks was potatoes & onions. In July & August it was fantastic but I ended up spending more on produce in the fall because I was still paying my share but had to find veggies some place else. Last year I stuck to the farmer’s market.

Leave a Reply

