to believe or not to believe

We paid a visit to the man in red this weekend:

getting ready to talk to Santa
getting ready to talk to Santa

I remember the days when the kids were old enough to really, really want to talk to Santa but were still afraid to sit on his lap. And then the days where the anticipation of seeing him was almost too much to bear “do you think he’ll remember my birthday this year?” (my oldest would say since she was born on Christmas Eve and a well-timed whisper to one of Santa’s helpers while we waited in line ensured that Santa would indeed remember that he gets to visit our house on her birthday.) Now I’ve got a mixed bag of Santa visitors on my hand.

K: (aka the almost 10 year old non-believer) Do I really have to go see him this year?
Answer: Yes, you will perpetuate this myth for your siblings and do it with enthusiasm! (whispered through my teeth)

E: (aka the seven year old suspicious believer) I’m kind of nervous and kind of excited. What do you think he’ll say to me?
Answer: He’ll be happy to talk to you sweetie and you know once you get up there you’ll feel totally excited.

J: (aka the four year old hook, line & sinker believer) I so excited!! I’m going to ask him what he had for breakfast today! (he did and the answer was oatmeal, orange juice & hot cocoa.)

there's a serious discussion happening here
there's a serious discussion happening here

Last year was the first year we had a non-believer in the house. It was a little sad but we came up with a few traditions to ease the transition. She stayed up to help us fill her siblings’ stockings and one night of gift wrapping she hung out with me in my room to watch Miracle on 34th Street. This year E has been asking suspicious questions of my brother but hasn’t made a peep to her parents. I think she’s heard some rumors and is afraid that if she confirms them with her parents, her Christmas morning just won’t be the same. And J… well J is talking about staying up all night to listen for Santa and asking all sorts of questions about Santa.

Sigh… I’m going to really, really miss having a preschooler in the house in a couple of years.

Leave a comment