Food Tuesday: Tacos

Oh Rachel Ray Turkey Tacos how do I love thee? Let me count the ways:

1. You got me off packaged taco seasoning forever
2. You gave me a healthy taco recipe for my family
3. You are my 4 year old’s favorite dinner, his birthday dinner request even
4. You are delicious in a tortilla or on a salad or leftover.

Okay enough with the counting, but seriously – this is the only taco recipe you’ll ever need. It’s that good. It’s from Rachel’s 365 No Repeats Cookbook which is full of great recipes. We had it last night and we’ll be fighting over the leftovers for lunch today.

Turkey Tacos

1 TB olive oil (to be honest, I skip this)

in my kitchen this actually uses 2 beers, after I dump 1/2 a can I drink the rest while cooking and need the 2nd for dinner
in my kitchen this actually uses 2 beers, after I dump 1/2 a can I drink the rest while cooking and need the 2nd for dinner

1 package ground turkey breast (I use 98% fat free)
Salt & pepper
2 tsp poultry seasoning
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 medium onion, chopped
1/4 cup golden raisins, chopped (yes really – see my note at the end)
2 TB chili powder (be generous)
2 tsp cumin
1/2 can of beer or 1/2 a cup of chicken stock
1 cup tomato sauce
your favorite taco toppings and shells or tortillas (we use whole grain tortillas)

1. Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the EVOO if you’re using it. Once warm, add the turkey and break up with a wooden spoon. Season with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning. Stir. Add the garlic, onions, raisins, chili powder & cumin. Stir and cook for about 5 minutes.

getting ready to be yummy
getting ready to be yummy

2. Stir in the beer or stock to deglaze the pan. Once it’s cooked off add the tomato sauce and then simmer on low for 5-10 minutes while you get everything else ready.

bubbling away and making my house smell so good
bubbling away and making my house smell so good

3. Get your shells warmed, your lettuce chopped, your toppings out and set the table. Now eat!

Note about the raisins: I didn’t use raisins the first few times I made this (because honestly it sounded gross to me) and we still liked it. Then I decided that Rachel has never steered me wrong (except sometimes by calling for too many onions) so I gave it a try. That night my husband took a bite and said “Did you do something different tonight? These taste great!” And he was right! I would seriously miss them now – they add a bit of moisture to the meat and just enough sweetness to balance out the spice. So what I’m trying to say is – add the raisins.

6 thoughts on “Food Tuesday: Tacos

  1. Hey Barb… found your blog… love it!! Took your advice and tried the Turkey Tacos. Russel says “YUMM-O!!” This recipe is a definate keeper. Jenny

Leave a Reply

