chicken artichoke calzone

A few days ago I wrote a post about my good friends moving to Mississippi. Last Thursday we had them over for their “last supper.” It was the last time I will probably get to cook for them – at least in the forseeable future. That day, while we were walking to school and talking about this ‘event’, my neighbor said “so, what are you making for dinner tonight?” And it dawned on me… I hadn’t planned anything special. Here I was feeding my very good friend the night before she was moving and I hadn’t asked her if there was something special she’d like or planned anything fairly elaborate. In fact, I planned to do something with extra chicken (we like to grill on the weekends and if I’ve got some extra chicken lying around we’ll throw that on the grill and use later in the week for a faster dinner). Sigh… I felt a bit of a failure as a friend. But honestly, I think it worked out better this way. This way it felt like other times we’ve eaten together instead of having that “last supper” moniker over our heads.

And besides, it’s one of my favorites and everyone likes it.

Chicken Artichoke Calzones
1 14 oz can of artichoke hearts, drained and finely chopped
1 tsp minced garlic
2 cups spinach leaves, finely sliced
2 cups shredded mozzerella cheese (provolone cheese is yummy too)
2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
2 tsp cornmeal
1 can refrigerated pizza dough
1 jar of your favorite marinara

1. Preheat oven to 425.

2. In a large bowl combine artichoke hearts thru the chicken, add a little salt & pepper and toss gently.

3. Sprinkle a large baking sheet with cornmeal. Unroll dough and cut into 6 equal portions. Pat each portion into a 6×5 inch rectangle. Spoon about 3/4 cup into the center of each dough portion. Fold one corner over to make a triangle and firmly press the edges together to seal.

4. Bake for 15 minutes until golden. While baking, warm up your marinara sauce for dipping.

You can also freeze these partially baked and just bake them straight from the freezer for 15-20 minutes. And if you end up with leftover filling – it’s pretty good tossed with some cooked pasta some other night or for lunch.

Leave a Reply

