my sole sisters

See those women up there? Those women have become like sisters to me. In fact, we jokingly refer to ourselves as ‘sole sisters.’ We run together – hence the s-o-l-e spelling. But our running is far more than exercise. It is an opportunity to bare our souls to each other. To vent. To yell. To cry. To laugh. To gather opinions. To support. To commiserate. To reaffirm. To be.

When we are together we can accomplish big things. Our combined strength and will is far greater than the sum of our individual efforts. I am honored, amazed and proud to call them my friends.

Last weekend, we did something that I would not have been able to do on my own. Something that I would have bet you $100 last year that I would never even attempt. We ran a half marathon – that’s 13.1 miles – and we did it in our target training time. But times don’t matter here – what matters is that we finished on our feet, still running. Every one of us finished well.

I feel like a door has been opened – kicked open – this year. This friendship has opened up so much for me and I’m not just talking about the physical challenges we talk each other into. (hello, triathlon!) I am incredibly thankful that our lives now include each other.

Thank you Barb.
Thank you Kate.
Thank you Lisa.
We did it!

Now what’s next?? 🙂

5 thoughts on “my sole sisters

    1. Kelly – I told one of my running girls this comment and she said “Oh – we know we’re rock stars!” 🙂 🙂

  1. You are very welcome, my friend. It was a good day, wasn’t it? I was so proud of all of you! So thankful to have a healthy body and wonderful friends like you!

Leave a Reply

