What I’ve learned on the road

We’re in the midst of the Great American Road Trip. In fact, I’m typing this from a Holiday Inn just south of the Grand Canyon. It’s been a very busy 4 days. We’ve hiked in the Garden of the Gods,

walked the world’s highest suspension bridge in Royal Gorge,

clambered around cliff dwellings in Mesa Verde

and hiked the South Rim of the Grand Canyon.

I’ll share more details about our trip later (and photos – for those of you that have my photo website address, just wait until you see all the photos. But I don’t have time to make those just yet.) For now – here’s a list of things I’ve learned so far on the road out west:

1. Getting the kids in the car at 3am for a long day of driving is totally worth the effort. We made it 19 hours Friday and there was no complaining, no fussiness, no losing of tempers. It didn’t even feel like the marathon drive it really was.

2. Bubblegum can provide at least an hour of entertainment in the car.

3. Giving a child beef jerky 30 minutes after he has gotten car sick is a good way to ensure that you’ll be pulling over for another puke session.

4. Getting the kids out of their comfort zone and making them try new things is one of the many plusses of this trip. We have hiked on the edge of canyons. Climbed up a very steep 32 foot ladder. Walked across a bridge that was thousands of feet above the ground. (and we’re not done yet!)

5. If I’m driving thru a town that starts with the letter ‘D’ – we’re going to have a monsoon rain its wrath upon us. (whew)

6. My kids don’t take the license plate game seriously enough.

7. Being able to text friends when I need to vent about someone’s driving style may just save my marriage.

8. Scheduling sightseeing for half the day and then driving half the day to the next adventure makes for long days yet very, very productive days.

9. Scheduling a day every 3 days where you get done early enough to hit the hotel pool is an important part of that successfully productive schedule.

10. Hotel pillows suck. I’m so glad I’ve hauled mine around everywhere we go.

2,000 miles down… 2,000 more to go! We’ve still got adventures ahead in California and Utah before we officially start heading home. I can’t tell you how happy I am to be exposing my kids to all of this. It’s been a fabulous trip so far!!

One thought on “What I’ve learned on the road

Leave a Reply

