the schedule nazi

I spent quite a bit of time planning this road trip. I even typed up an agenda for each day listing where we’d start; how we’d travel; the directions, costs & times of activities; hotel locations, phone numbers and confirmation numbers. Oh it was a festival for the control freak in me.

I was told by more than one person that I was trying to squeeze too much into our days. That there was no way we’d be able to get it all done. I’d heard it enough that I was getting worried that I’d have to be some sort of schedule nazi. I was envisioning saying things like this: No, you can NOT do that it’s 3:03 and we have to get in the car immediately!

Luckily, that didn’t happen.

Don’t get me wrong, we had some very full days. But I don’t think any of us felt rushed nor did we feel like we were pushing too hard. We woke up with no alarm clocks every day but one. We were able to spend as much time as everyone wanted at each of our stops. We usually got to our hotels around 9-10pm local time, which is a little late for the kids but not exceptionally late. And if anything – it made it easy for everyone to fall asleep! I’m so happy that we got to do everything I’ve planned so far.

Now we’re in Los Angeles, just around the corner from Disneyland in fact. We’ll be staying here the rest of the week and you know I’ve got something planned every day. However, the only long day we’ll be putting in is the day we go hang out with Mickey – and I don’t think anyone will mind a full day of that. I see lots of easy mornings and pool time in the next few days.

And that’s a good thing because I’m squeezing in an extra national park on the way home – yippee!!

2 thoughts on “the schedule nazi

    1. Aside from some serious frustration with us today, he’s been holding out remarkably well considering all his wife has planned for him!

Leave a Reply

