the wandering prayer

Every night before I fall asleep I pray. Sometimes the Catholic schoolgirl comes out in me and I’ll run through a few Hail Mary’s. Often I’ll start with an Our Father and then do some of my own prayers or carry on some sort of dialogue. Most days I try to be thankful for a few specific blessings. The style and pace of my prayers depend a lot on what kind of day I’ve had.

I have to admit though, more often than not I fall asleep before ‘officially’ ending my prayers. When I was little I was once told that if you fall asleep praying, your guardian angel will finish your prayers for you. My poor guardian angel is on call an awful lot for that duty. And as much as I hate to admit it, there are some nights where my thoughts wander down tangents when I’m praying…

Our Father who art in heaven… did I remember to put the clothes in the washer into the dryer…
Hallowed be Thy name, Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done… it’s going to be cold in Mackinaw this weekend, I should probably pack jeans for everyone, maybe I’ll pack my Gap jeans and a few t-shirts, a sweatshirt and a long-sleeve shirt so I have plenty of layers…
OH! I better start my prayer over…

Dear Lord, thank you for the blessings you have given me today. Thank you for watching over us… it was fun watching K’s first cross country meet. I’m so proud of her and so glad she had a good experience. Whew would it have been bad if she’d been one of the last runners to come across the finish, can you imagine how ticked off she would have been about the whole thing?

I’m sure God loves to listen to my thoughts on dinner plans for the week or what to pack for vacation. Then again, maybe when I start to ramble He just shakes His head or rolls His eyes, “there she goes again.”

Leave a Reply

