food thursday: fire up the crock pot

My hours from 4:30-6:30 most weeknights are filled with things like running kids to and from practices, attending cross country meets, helping with cheer practice, picking up my girl scout, teaching CCD, etc etc. You know what they’re rarely filled with this time of year? Time in the kitchen to cook dinner.

This is the time of year where my crock pot gets a serious workout. Whenever I see a recipe in a magazine or newspaper for the crock pot, I tear it out. I cook it. I tweak it. I cook it again. This recipe falls in that category. I’m not sure it could be any easier and it only requires four ingredients (and one of those is water for goodness sake).

Pork Verde
4-5 boneless pork chops
1 jar of salsa verde
4 chopped carrots (large chunks)
1 cup of water

1. Put the carrots and water in the bottom of your crock pot.
2. Brown both sides of the pork chops in a TB of oil, sprinkle them with salt & pepper. Lay them on top of the carrots.
3. Pour the salsa verde over everything.
4. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

That’s it! (Though if you have time, I recommend a side of corn bread stuffing.) The pork gets a great flavor from sitting in the salsa all day and it’s not too spicy – even the pickiest eater in my house ate it all. And as an added bonus, you’ll come home in the afternoon to a house that smells like someone has been cooking all day – yum!

2 thoughts on “food thursday: fire up the crock pot

  1. Pingback: NWI Parent

Leave a Reply

