now I’ll have nothing to say

I am entering a phase of my life that I like to call “my home is a battle zone.” Multiple times a week I find myself having unpleasant encounters with my nearly 12yo daughter. I fully realize there is no end in sight for this behavior. And yes, I also realize that I’ve got another girl just two years behind her (what were we thinking?!?). So when I come across the random article about how to talk with your tweens/teens, I pay attention. I figure I can use all the help I can get. I read one such article during lunch yesterday and it suggested avoiding these phrases:

End of conversation.

Just do it, OK?

Here we go again.

I cannot believe you just said that.

I’ve had it with you.

Ummmm… those are a pretty standard part of my repertoire. So, now what the hell am I supposed to say??

4 thoughts on “now I’ll have nothing to say

Leave a Reply

