cool or meanie?

K (11yo): EVERYONE has a cell phone. Seriously I’m the only person in the entire school that doesn’t have a cell phone.
Me: You & I both know that’s not true. You have no need for a cell phone.
K: Yes I do!! How am I supposed to talk to my friends?
Me: Let me introduce you to this handy gadget called our house phone.
K: [dramatic eyeroll] ARGH! You totally don’t get it.
Actually I do get it. I see the kids after practices. She is in a fairly small minority not having a cell phone. But, except for this social aspect, she has absolutely no need for a cell phone. A cell phone that will cost me hundreds of dollars each year. So do I approach this as Cool Mom or Meanie Mom?

J (6yo): I need a new lego set with more Star Wars guys.
Me: I don’t think you NEED it, I think you WANT it.
J: ARGH! You totally don’t get it.
Oh, I get it. He’s six and immediate gratification is high on his list of needs. And there are definitely times where I’d love to spoil him (and the girls) by taking them out shopping for no reason – a very, very (VERY) rare occurence in this house. So do I approach this as Cool Mom or Meanie Mom?

E (9yo): I can NOT do _______ (substitute physical activity of your choice.)
Me: Sure you can, you just need to have a more positive attitude about it.
E: Nope, I really can’t. I don’t like it and I don’t want to and I can’t.
Me: I can help you practice E – if you try you can do it.
E: ARGH! You totally don’t get it.
Oh, I get it. She despises doing things that she’s not instantly good at (as does her mother). And she’d much prefer sitting in a cozy spot reading a book than being forced/coerced/dragged into some physical activity. So do I approach this as Cool Mom or Meanie Mom?

When you decide to have a beautiful little baby, you know you’ll be faced with big issues down the road. You might even practice certain speeches in your head. What you don’t realize is that you’ll be forced to choose daily between being the cool mom and the meanie mom.

As for me? I probably fall on the meanie side more often than not. I think it’s in the job description.

Leave a Reply

