keeping it local

I grew up in a family-owned business. As such, we were very conscious of spending our money locally whenever possible. It’s an idea that has stuck with me as an adult. I tend to avoid large chains when I can buy the same thing on a more local level. I buy my groceries at the smaller local chain. I look hard for independent booksellers and give them my business whenever possible. I visit the stores on our little downtown square and try to buy fun gifts there.

So when my dad sent me a link to the 3/50 project I was totally on board. The idea is simple: visit three local stores, say hello and try to spend $50. Your shopping locally directly impacts the community in which you live. So, head out and pick up a couple cards at the local stationery shop. Visit the candy store to buy some special treats for your kids. And go out to dinner at the hometown restaurant this weekend.

What a great idea as we enter the holiday shopping season!

Leave a Reply

