thankful for things big & small

It’s the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, the last Wednesday in November and thus my last thankful post… for now anyway. Thanksgiving is such a wonderful holiday because it reminds us to be thankful for the gifts, the people, the world around us. It’s a holiday focused solely on gathering together and sharing a meal. What a beautiful, delicious excuse to slow down for a moment (the slowing down happens after the flurry of activity in the kitchen).

This year I am thankful for many things – some of them big and some of them small:

I am thankful that my family is healthy. That my husband and I have jobs that allow us to put a warm roof over our heads, plenty of food on our table and clothes on our backs.

I am thankful that we have clean water to drink, clear air to breathe and live in a place where it’s safe to play outside, go for a run and walk to school.

I am thankful for my body in all its imperfections because it carries me on adventures, hugs my children, cleans my house, does my laundry, cooks my food, reads my books and is strong enough to keep going at this quick like a bunny pace.

I am thankful for the car that took my family safely across the country this year – literally. The car that my kids are excited to get in when they know something fun is in store. The car that comfortably and easily drives us to & from so many, many activities.

I am thankful for my friends. The friends who were by my side for every step of my physical challenges this year. And the friends who aren’t by my side often enough but when they are – it feels like that’s right where they belong. Friends who listen, support and encourage. Friends who put up with my ridiculous tendencies to plan everything from our running routes to our social calendars. Friends whose families surround my family with love.

I am thankful for the smell of snow in the air. The feel of a warm breeze when I’m watching my kids at the pool. The squish of sand between my toes as we walk along the shores of Lake Michigan. The sight of fall colors and full moons and bright blue skies.

I am thankful for fascinating books, good chocolate and warm blankets.

I am thankful that people like you read my blog and perhaps get a smile, or a new thought or even a laugh from it. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

