need some training

Last year I didn’t know how lucky I was to have a regular Wednesday running group. It’s completely fallen apart this year – for a variety of reasons – and now that the race season is over, I’ve got nothing to get me out there.

…true, my ankle is still healing so I shouldn’t be running but let’s put that aside for the moment…

I feel like a blimp. I’m still working out five days a week but the intensity of my workouts has dropped dramatically since I finished the 15K last month. I’ve got no goals and apparently no fire under my feet. Granted, a four-day weekend of eating & drinking might just have something to do with the mushy feeling in my mid-section. But for the past 2 weeks I’ve felt something missing. I’m not getting the normal workout ‘high’ – I feel like I’m barely breaking a sweat some days. It’s driving me crazy and yet, I can’t figure out how to fix it.

I need something to train for!!

3 thoughts on “need some training

  1. funny but Sharon and I were planning a run on the new bike trail for Wed. 10:15. Anyone and Everyone come, we have to start pretraining for the 1/2 marathon. Oh yeah, we have a tri in Feb. and I think we should work on our speed for ringing in the spring 5K.

  2. I have this problem frequently – especially since I really don’t race any more. Right now my motivation is being able to stay in good enough shape to run with my daughter whenever she needs me to.

    You need to let your ankle heal, though, so it does’t become a chronic thing.

  3. Isn’t there an arctic plunge event somewhere around here? I can not run with you but I would be happy to supervise as you plunged into Hermit’s Lake.

Leave a Reply

