what I learned @38

Today is my birthday, the start of my own new year. For me it’s a good time to look back and figure out how I’ve grown over the past year. (and no I’m not talking about growth over my waistband) I think it’s worth a few moments to consciously consider how the days added up and what they have to teach me. Sometimes it’s so easy to get caught up in the blur of activity that life’s lessons pass you by. Maybe today’s reflection will help me take something away from my 39th year and apply it to the me’s of the future.

what I learned @38

  • with proper attire, I can run when it’s less than 10 degrees outside
  • my body is stronger than I ever gave it credit for
  • helping in the preschool classroom is a good way to learn new silly songs – and it’s good to abandon self-conscious behavior from time to time
  • spelunking is cool
  • silly hats make parties more fun – especially Derby Day parties
  • sitting out at the baseball field is still a nice way to spend a spring day
  • beach week is the best way to start our summer
  • my oldest daughter is braver than I was at her age and giving her the chance to prove it was a good idea
  • I can swim and bike and run, all in the same day
  • road trips totally rock
  • my kids are old enough to go on some very cool adventures
  • I need to take a longer vacation in Utah
  • sharing Northern Michigan with my kids and later with some of my very best friends made one of my favorite places on earth just a little more special
  • I’m finally old enough to have my own ipod
  • having a group of supportive, fun friends makes life so much richer

And now – my own birthday interview. A few favorite things:

color: orange
food: chocolate, particularly chocolate with nuts & caramel
vegetable: asparagus
drink: diet coke
sport: college basketball
thing to do: read
movie: On Golden Pond
game: I love to play cards
book: there’s no such thing as just one favorite book, but recently I really enjoyed Kathryn Stockett’s The Help
restaurant: The Blue Moon on St Croix
holiday: Thanksgiving
animal: elephant

What did you request for your birthday dinner?
pizza and salad

Tell me about your friends:
They are silly and random. Oh, sorry that was the answer my oldest gave but it still seemed appropriate. Ha! My friends are arms when I need a hug, ears when I need to vent, joy when I need laughter, rocks when I need a foundation.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
A travel writer.

If you could go anywhere on vacation, where would you go?
Every National Park.

What do you love about each person in our family?
I like to laugh with my oldest, listen to my middlest and snuggle with my youngest. I like to eat, laugh & love with my husband.

What were some of your best memories from this past year?
The best idea I had all year: The Great American Road Trip. Walking the Mackinac Bridge with my children. Spending a fabulous weekend on Mackinac Island with friends. Running, Half Marathoning and Triathloning. Having my best family friends over for dinner.

and what I look forward to this year – the year I finish off my 30s

  • feeling the sense of accomplishment that comes from doing something I never thought possible
  • more road trip adventures
  • making the everyday fun
  • get-togethers with my gang
  • doing a better job finding time with each of my children to learn more about the people they are becoming

Really I just want to look for ways to soak up what’s around me. Be present in the moment. Be an active participant in this life I’ve been given. And that’s what I’ll be raising my glass to tonight.

3 thoughts on “what I learned @38

  1. Happy Birthday, Barb! You kicked some serious ass in your 38th year. I’m sure there’s a lot more of that to come this year. Enjoy your pizza and salad!

  2. 39 years ago you came into our lives and you’ve been a joy each and every year. Hard to believe time flies so fast, seems like yesterday you were born.

Leave a Reply

