food thursday: oatmeal sconuts

I was trying to think of what kind of recipe to post so I was looking back at recent posts. I’ve done lots of easy dinners and crock pot dinners in recent weeks but I haven’t posted a baking recipe for a long time. Time to fix that! I tore this one out of a magazine years ago and I wish I could give credit for this recipe because I can’t even say that I’ve tweaked it enough to call it my own. But I didn’t tear the entire page out and the back of the torn piece has part of an ad that is copyrighted 2007, so I’ve had it for about four years. Let’s just say that I’m sharing this one from someone’s kitchen to all of ours!

I like this because it involves cinnamon and oatmeal – two of my favorite baking ingredients. The recipe says you can freeze extras in a plastic bag for up to a month. I wouldn’t know about that because we never have extras.

Oatmeal Sconuts
2 cups old fashioned oats
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 stick of butter, cut into small pieces
3/4 cup of buttermilk
1 egg
cinnamon & sugar

1. Heat oven to 425 degrees.
2. In food processor combine oats thru nutmeg. Pulse to blend. Add butter pieces and pulse until coarse crumbs form.
3. In a small bowl or measuring cup beat buttermilk with egg. With the processor running, add the egg mixture and pulse until a dough forms.
4. Scoop the dough out in 1/4 cups and place them on a cookie sheet. Flatten them into little mounds (2 to 2.5 inches in size). Sprinkle with cinnamon & sugar and bake 15 minutes or until golden on bottom.

Cook’s note: Don’t have buttermilk? I bake a lot so I have buttermilk powder that I keep in the fridge for just this purpose. However, here is an easy substitute for buttermilk: place one tablespoon of white vinegar in a measuring cup, fill with milk to the one cup line. Stir and voila! Buttermilk substitute.

Leave a Reply

