rearranging my space

My children spent part of their weekend redecorating their rooms. I’m not talking paint or new furniture. I’m talking moving around pictures on the wall. Creating some new artwork to display. Shuffling a few things here and there in an effort to freshen things up. It reminded me of when I was younger. I used to completely rearrange my room every few months. I still get the urge from time to time – I don’t need to buy anything new, just rearrange my space.

A few years ago (actually more like seven or eight years ago) my husband went away for the weekend and I got the rearranging urge. I ended up painting our bedroom an entirely different color and moving all the furniture around. The best part? He arrived home in the wee hours of the morning and didn’t want to turn the lights on – which made the whole, “hey the bed is over here now” have a much bigger impact. 🙂

Sometimes moving furniture can change the feel of a room and my mood too. Unfortunately I feel a bit stuck with the rooms in which I spend most of my time. There are only so many ways you can situate a couch in front of the television. The kitchen table literally will only fit in the room one way. My desk is somewhat locked in place because of where the Internet cables come out of the wall. It makes me a little sad actually, I’d like to do some rearranging. Change my perspective when I walk in the house. Make someone stub their toe in the dark because I moved the furniture.

Now I’m looking around for a project. Toy/homework room… I’ve got my eye on you.

Leave a Reply

