Food Thursday: Three easy green bean recipes (and free veggies for you!)

I’m a big fan of fresh vegetables. I’ve also found that the kids eat more veggies when they are fresh and not over-cooked. That’s great because many vegetables really don’t need much more than a quick steam in the microwave to be cooked just right. I bought a microwave veggie steamer at Bed, Bath & Beyond and it has been one of the best $10 purchases I’ve ever made. But I have to admit that there are some nights where even the few minutes it takes to clean and chop the veggies are a few minutes too many. When we’ve got games and practices happening at the same time and a short window in which to get everyone at the table, I go for the fastest options possible – that don’t involve a drive-thru (at least most of the time).

A few weeks ago a company named GreenLine asked if I would try their green beans that come in a microwaveable bag. I decided to give them a shot on one of those crazy busy nights and you know what? They taste just as good as the fresh green beans I buy all summer but without the time it takes to clean and snap them. And they are big, pretty green beans – nice to have when our local green beans aren’t in season and the ones I find at the store are small and not so fresh looking. When my hands are already busy cooking dinner, it’s nice to literally throw a bag in the microwave and have a fresh vegetable on the table in five minutes. Two steps to fresh veggies: poke some holes in the bag with a fork and put it in the microwave for 4 minutes. That’s the kind of time-saver I can fall in love with.

Thanks to GreenLine you can try them too – I will pick nine people at random who comment on this blog or my food blog and send you a coupon for a free 12oz bag of washed, trimmed, ready-to-steam green beans.

What do we do with those bright, green yummy beans when they are cooked? My kids like them best when I toss them with a tablespoon of butter and a sprinkle of salt & pepper. For those nights when you might have a few extra minutes on your hand try these recipes:

Garlic Green Beans
While your green beans are steaming, saute a teaspoon of minced garlic (one clove) in a tablespoon of olive oil. Pour the oil & garlic over the green beans and add some shredded parmesan cheese. Toss to coat.

Mediterranean Green Beans
While green beans are steaming, dice a roma tomato. Toss the green beans and tomato with a tablespoon of olive oil. Then top with crumbled feta cheese.

Spicy Green Beans
While your green beans are steaming, heat a tablespoon of olive oil or sesame oil in a small skillet. Saute a teaspoon (up to a tablespoon depending on how much spice you like) of crushed red pepper until fragrant – this will take barely a minute. Pour over the green beans and toss to coat. Top with toasted sesame seeds.

Now leave me a comment so I can send out some free veggie love!

As you have probably guessed, I too received free green beans from GreenLine in exchange for writing a post about them.

4 thoughts on “Food Thursday: Three easy green bean recipes (and free veggies for you!)

Leave a Reply

