Food Thursday: Lemony Goodness

Yesterday the kids and I spent a lovely day in the city. I’ll write all about our latest Chicago adventure tomorrow, but right now I’ve got cupcakes on my brain. We hit up a cupcake bakery just a block away from Millennium Park on Wabash called Sugar Bliss. We each ordered a cupcake and took them over to the Crown Fountain area to munch in between splashes in the fountain.

I chose a Lemon Drop cupcake and it was just right on a hot day – sweet and yet refreshing, like all good lemon desserts should be. That got me in the mood to make some of my own lemon cupcakes. Then I thought I might share a recipe so you could make some too! Now you’ll find plenty of recipes that make cupcakes from scratch and that’s all good and fine, but sometimes a little of this & that added to a cake mix is even a tiny bit better because it always comes out moist and fluffy.

Lemon Cupcakes
1 box lemon cake mix
1 small box lemon instant pudding
1 C sour cream
1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 C water
3/4 C oil
4 eggs

1. Preheat oven to 350. Empty cake mix & lemon pudding into a large bowl. Add wet ingredients and mix with electric mixer on medium speed for about two minutes. The batter will be thick.
2. Spoon mix into cupcake tin (each one about 2/3 full) and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Makes 24 cupcakes.

Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting
Yes, you could use a tub of frosting, but in this case, homemade is the better choice.
1 8-ounce package cream cheese, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
zest of 1 lemon
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1. With an electric mixer on medium, beat the cream cheese until softened. Slowly add the sugar, zest and juice and beat until creamy, about 3 minutes.

Optional addition: I love the taste of lemons & blueberries together. I haven’t tried this yet but I bet a fresh blueberry on top of each frosted cupcake would be both cute and yummy. Or a cup of fresh blueberries gently folded into the cake mix before you pour it into the cupcake tins? Mmmmm.

3 thoughts on “Food Thursday: Lemony Goodness

  1. Oh my gosh Barb. I made these for my birthday treat for work today and WOW! Fantastic and very refreshing. I have told everyone that it’s your recipe but I think I’ll need to share with them. Love reading your blog and this is the third of your recipies I’ve tried.

Leave a Reply

