This is how I want to turn 40

Ever since my brother ran in the Disney Marathon a few years ago, I’ve thought it would be so fun to do a Run Disney event. The thought of running through one of their parks, taking pictures with Disney characters as I go, seeing all the magical distractions as I run… it would be so very fun.

Yesterday I found out about the brand new Tinkerbell Half Marathon. It’s being held at Disneyland. It’s being run in January – the month of my birthday. And I can’t get it out of my head.

This is how I want to celebrate my 40th.

Oh, I’ve already got big, fun plans for this “big” birthday. In our special group of friends, four of us will hit this milestone this year and we’re already planning a 4-day trip to a place where the pools are beautiful, the drinks are plentiful and there’s fun at every corner. It’s going to be a great trip and celebration. But this half marathon… it feels like it was made just for me to chase away some demons and start a new decade in a powerful, strong, healthy way.

If I was really ambitious I’d do the Disney Marathon because it happens on my actual birthday weekend. However, I learned the hard way how much is out of my control in a race that long. I want a race that can be a celebration the entire time. I want to do a half marathon. I want to run in the California sunshine. I want the inaugural Tinkerbell medal.

I want to run this race.

Now I just need to figure out how to pay for the flight and entry.

2 thoughts on “This is how I want to turn 40

  1. There is also a race called the diva race . They have stops where you pick up a boa, lipstick,etc.. so cute. I read about it years ago. I think the tinkerbell half would be great. Hold a bake sale. Get a sponser. get the church to help you out. lol have a car wash.. SOunds like it is fundraiser time!

Leave a Reply

