lack of patience

Patience: The capacity to accept or tolerate delay, trouble, or suffering without getting angry or upset.

AKA NOT my strong suit.

I hate waiting. My days are usually scheduled like a line of dominoes and one late activity messes everything up for the rest of the day. Plus it puts me in a bad mood. I don’t think I’m capable of tolerating delay at all – much less tolerating it without getting upset. It’s not my best quality but there it is – I am one impatient person.

Yesterday my entire day was filled with waiting and delays. I had to drop plans, change plans and run late (I despise being late). I won’t bore you with the details but I spent hours in waiting rooms yesterday – HOURS. And while I tried to be as productive as I could, there’s only so much you can get done in a waiting room. And when one of those waiting room sessions involves keeping a 7yo boy entertained – there is nothing productive that can be done. When I finally got home, and stayed here more than 15 minutes, the frustrations didn’t end.

By bedtime I was in a lousy mood and when I finally decided to just give up on the day and go to bed – there were three loads of laundry dumped on it that I had forgotten about. I thought briefly about dumping them on the floor but couldn’t face the thought of getting that much further behind the next day. That’s why I dump them on the bed after all – it’s a comfortable place to stand and fold clothes but it also forces me to get them done.

And the point of this rant & complaint?? I think my bad mood is paying it forward. I didn’t sleep well, I had a hard time getting up, the day is dreary and I’m already looking for ways to get out of today’s training run. I should shut up before I infect you with my impatient, grouchy self.

But I hate to leave with nothing but complaints – after all, one of my favorite things to tell my children is “don’t complain, fix the problem.” Well, I can’t fix or change the mess that was yesterday but I can change my outlook for today. So today – I will look for smiling faces and try to return their smiles. I will not be sad that I cannot run outside, I will try to enjoy mindless television while I hit the treadmill. I will make soup in the crockpot and perhaps even try to bake a surprise before the kids get home from school. I will try my best to be more like Pollyanna and less like Oscar the Grouch.

I will try.

Wish me luck.

3 thoughts on “lack of patience

  1. I am SO not a patient person either – you can ask just about anybody. Having to wait and then having your day get further behind because someone else can’t keep a schedule is the absolute worst.

    I wish you sunshine and rainbows and fluffy yellow ducklings today. Anything that will make you smile.

    1. you’re right – that puts me in a better mood already. Now if I see any rainbows or fluffy yellow ducklings on my run, my day will be complete!

Leave a Reply

