Food Thursday: Roasted Red Pepper Meatloaf

I like meatloaf – especially with a side of mashed potatoes… though I tend to put the potatoes on top of the meatloaf… mmmmm…. but I digress. I like meatloaf but I recognize that most meatloaf recipes aren’t terribly healthy. This one is definitely on the healthy side but I like it even more because it comes out so moist and delicious.

Roasted Red Pepper Meatloaf
Important note: don’t cook meatloaf in a loaf pan. That’s how people end up with undercooked meat, and that’s no fun for anyone. Shape the mixture into a loaf shape and bake it on a jelly roll pan (a cookie sheet with edges). Or a 9×13 baking dish.

2 lbs of ground turkey (get the lowest fat version you can find)
1 small yellow onion, diced
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1 egg, beaten
1 cup grated Parmesan
2TB plus 2tsp of creamy Dijon mustard
1 cup parsley
1 7oz jar of roasted red peppers, cut into small slices

1. Combine everything plus a bit of salt & pepper in a large bowl. Mix well. (I use my hands to make sure everything gets nicely mushed together.)

2. Shape into a loaf and place on your baking dish. Cook at 400 degrees for 45 minutes or until no trace of pink in the middle. I highly recommend using a meat thermometer to test it also – it should read 165-170 degrees. Let rest 15 minutes before slicing.

As with many of my recipes, this one started with something I tore out of a magazine and then tweaked while cooking. Magazines, newspapers, random advertisements – all serve as good inspirations for cooking. I wasn’t very careful when I tore this one out so I can’t give complete credit, but I think it came from Real Simple.

Leave a Reply

