Thankful Thursday – the wrong day edition

I try to consciously be aware of and thankful for the many blessings that life throws at me. But let’s be honest, when you’re a parent it can be hard to be aware of anything outside of the whirlwind of activities, carpooling and homework that those little people bring to the table each day. This month – the month of Thanksgiving, one of my most favorite holidays – I’m going to make a conscious effort once a week to take note of things in my life for which I am thankful.

I like the alliteration of writing this post on Thursdays and Thanksgiving itself is on a Thursday. However, I write that little food article each week on Thursday… so I hit the thesaurus. And you know what? There aren’t any synonyms that start with a W or M or T or F. Blah – I’ll need to take some time to come up with a catchy little title for this November effort of mine. Because Obliged Wednesday just doesn’t cut it.

Pushing aside the literature/writing geek within, let’s get on with a list shall we? I do love lists you know. In fact, you could say I’m very thankful for lists – they save my behind on a daily basis. I’m going to skip over the big things for which I am thankful – my health, the health of my family, the warm roof over our heads and good food in our pantry. Instead I’m going to focus on the less obvious things that are most often unappreciated.

Today, I am thankful for…

  • hugs from my children – even the one that is so tall her hugs remind me that I must be getting old if my own kid is that big
  • well-timed orthodontia – that oldest kid of mine had an expander put in the day after Halloween, which meant she had to give someone all her Snickers. That someone is me.
  • the end of cheer season – oh sure, those little girls are funny and energetic and it’s been more fun than I ever expected but I’m ready for a break from pom-poms and high-pitched squeals and weekly practices
  • my morning boy – the one who wakes up every morning with his arms spread wide for a hug and who is currently curled up on my lap as I type. Though in all honesty, he’s getting kind of big to type around.

And that will have to be the end of today’s list. It’s time for my arms and hands to pack lunches and make breakfasts and give good morning hugs. And you know what? I’m very thankful for those tasks too.

3 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday – the wrong day edition

  1. Thankfulness can happen any day…
    Right now I am thankful for…beer. And sleep. And the possibility of a new day tomorrow.
    I am also thankful that my bad days are only once in a while.

    I love your list. And that morning boy? I have one. And now I can’t wait for those hugs.

  2. What about Monday musings? or Barbs Blessings as a subtitle to what ever the day of the week is. Also , I saw that running book I told you about with the inner city kids at costco. I love costco they have everything. lol
    OR, be wild and just do 2 on thursdays, a little blessing with your food. lol have fun!

Leave a Reply

