my annual Christmas letter

Dear Santa,

It was nice to see you a week or so ago. We all appreciated your time and the kids had a nice chat with you. As I’m sure you know, they are good kids and are eagerly awaiting your Christmas visit in a few weeks. In the meantime, I’d like to make one simple request for this year’s stocking: some sleep.

I’m not even going to be extra picky and declare when that sleep needs to happen. I’d be happy with an occasional nap, a night of sleep where I don’t wake myself up; perhaps a night where I sleep more than six hours. I’m not picky, really. I’m just tired. TIRED.

I don’t have a newborn anymore so I’m not up at all hours of the night. For the most part my children also sleep through the night and very rarely come to wake me up. And believe me, I appreciate that. However, my own brain seems to be betraying me… or maybe sabotaging me. I can’t get any rest and I’ve got oh so much to do.

I start a new project this week. And while I’m very excited about the challenges in this project, it’s going to take a lot of time over the next few months. I’m trying to finish my Christmas shopping before the start date on that project in the hopes that eliminating one source of holiday stress will be helpful. But when I look at my schedule of work, cookie baking, gift wrapping, half-marathon training and normal housework and child rearing… well, it makes me want to cry soft, exhausted tears.

Santa, if you’ve got anything in that bag of yours for me – I’ll trade it all for some sound, restful sleep. I know you can appreciate this dilemma. I’m sure you also are short on sleep this time of year. Seven… eight hours of continuous sleep. That’s all I want for Christmas.

Trying my hardest not to complain,

Barb

One thought on “my annual Christmas letter

  1. Yes, this. I always tell myself that someday, I’ll be able to sleep..but I’d kind of like that someday to be now.
    Great picture of the kids and Santa!

Leave a Reply

