walking hand in hand

The spring I was training for my first half marathon, I often noticed an older couple – probably in their 70s or even 80s – walking together. Some days I saw them multiple times on the same run. Sometimes they were predictably on the same street, other times they’d pop up in an unexpected neighborhood. They were always holding hands.

I saw them often enough that we’d nod and wave to each other. One day I came up behind them and stopped to talk to them. I told them that I was impressed at how regularly the two of them walked. The woman laughed and said they walked together every morning after breakfast and every evening before dinner. The man told me they were going to walk a half marathon themselves just to say they could. They never let go of each other’s hands.

This past spring while training for my marathon, our paths did not cross very often. But in the past couple of weeks I’ve seen them again – this time in the late afternoon. Bundled up in big coats and matching hats that look homemade – they even have the tassel ball on top. I like to think she knit them herself… or may be he did. They are still hand in hand.

I pointed them out to my oldest last week. We saw them again yesterday on our way to the library. They always look purposeful yet happy. They walk at a pretty good clip. And they are always, always walking hand in hand.

I want to be them someday.

4 thoughts on “walking hand in hand

Leave a Reply

