working away from home

I’m so very, very lucky to work from home. See – there’s my desk in all it’s current messy glory. I would like to clean it off, I feel less stress when my desk is clean. However, I don’t have time right now to clean it off so you get the messy version.

I won’t bore you with the reasons why I feel lucky to work at my messy desk, in sight of the messy homework table, with piles of unfolded laundry just one room over. The three main reasons are 12 (almost 13!), 10 and 7 years old. I have clients all over the country who rarely see me and are just fine with our remote working relationship. But every once in a while I have to get to have a face-to-face meeting with a client.

I used to live in Indianapolis so I have a number of connections there and sometimes need to make the 2-hour drive for work. Usually I’m able to schedule the meeting so that I can see my kids off to school – or at least have breakfast with them before dropping them at a friend’s – and be home when they get home. Today, however, I have to be in Indy all day long. I will wait to leave until they are awake – just barely. And I will not be home when they get home.

And this is making me sad.

I should be excited to have a day filled with grown-up discussions and thoughts. Instead, I’m bummed about making the drive on a morning where we might have some snow falling (I really like to walk the kids to school when snow is falling). And I’m bummed that I can’t read Christmas stories to J after his sisters are off to school (I really like reading Christmas stories). And I’m bummed that I don’t get to see my oldest off for her Confirmation retreat (it’s only one night away but I would still like to be here to say goodbye).

It will be a good day kicking off a very big new project. I am genuinely excited about this new challenge for work. So I will try my best not to be bummed and instead be thankful that 98% of the time I am here for walks and stories and to greet my children as they come home. I really am so very lucky.

And I suppose the Starbucks I’ll have in my car and the music that I’ll completely control and the singing I can do as loudly as I want might help cheer me up. 🙂

2 thoughts on “working away from home

  1. I’m sure that even though you’re missing a few events today, because of the flexibility with your job you get to be there for so many more. And, the Starbucks and music under your control during your drive will be great. Have a safe drive!

Leave a Reply

