Grace in Small Things: the stressed-out version

I’m in a perpetual state of stress right now. It’s not over-the-top, stomach-hurting kind of stress. But it is most definitely squeeze-something-out-of-every-minute stress. Lately my day starts at 5:30am and ends around 11 – often with me folding laundry before I collapse into bed. Just so I can get up approx 6 hours later and do it all again. I’m in a constant state of watching the clock. Of feeling guilty when I spend 15 minutes on Twitter or reading a blog. Of planning every second of my day. This level of activity is likely to wear me down at some point. I’m going to have to do a better job of giving myself some sort of break. I’ll let you know when I schedule that in.

In the meantime, I’ll grab my moments of serenity on the fly. And that’s where this quick reflection of grace in small things comes from. In this crazy-hectic-non-stop moment, I find grace:

  • In vacuum tracks on my carpet – even if the shelves are dusty and the kitchen sink is full of dishes, I feel a sense of relief when my carpet looks clean.
  • In story time – no matter what else is going on, the 15 minutes I spend snuggled in bed with J at night are golden.
  • In the strength of my legs – even when I cut the workout short, those runs/bike rides/laps in the pool reduce my stress, help me breathe and replenish my energy.
  • In yellow roses – still blooming from last week’s birthday gift, in front of the window looking out on sparkling snow. Those flowers are instant cheer-givers.
  • In warm socks – it’s cold, so cold I have seriously considered working at my laptop in fingerless mittens. Warm socks and slippers give grace.
2 thoughts on “Grace in Small Things: the stressed-out version

  1. I love vacuum tracks. They are my zen. When we budgeted enough for a cleaning lady last year (oh, how I miss her), I seriously wanted to keep the kids off the carpet to keep her tracks intact for as long as possible.

Leave a Reply

