Food Thursday: my banana bread is better than yours

We all have a recipe for banana bread. Some of you mix it in a blender. Some of you involve chunks of bananas. Some of you think brown bananas are only good for the trash can. (I shake my head at that last group.) But no matter which group you belong to – I have the last banana bread recipe you’ll ever want or need. And trust me, I’ve tried enough of them to know.

This is the very first recipe I posted on this blog nearly four years ago. I decided it was time to bring it back for an encore because, quite simply, it’s that good. When I’m really on the ball I make this in the afternoon so it’s waiting for my kids when they get home from school. I get extra long hugs on those days.

Barb’s Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  • 2-3 ripe bananas
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 6 TB butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp lemon peel
  • handful of chocolate chips, if you insist on measuring it’s about 1/2 cup

First, mash 2-3 bananas in a bowl and set aside.

Put the sugar and butter in a large bowl and cream together with a mixer. Add 1 egg and mix well. Then add the mashed bananas, again mixing to incorporate all ingredients.

Now put all the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, salt & lemon peel – together in a 2 cup measuring cup and add them to your wet ingredients in two batches to make sure it all mixes well.

By hand, stir in your handful of chocolate chips. Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 for 52 minutes.

Eat a slice while it’s still warm before the kids get home.

2 thoughts on “Food Thursday: my banana bread is better than yours

  1. This is so funny, cuz we all think the banana bread recipe from M’s grandma is the best. Our secret ingredient is sour cream. I’m definitely going to have to give yours a try sometime.

Leave a Reply

