A fluttering flashback

In the wee hours of the morning I heard little footsteps and a small figure appeared at the side of my bed. J had a bad dream and came running downstairs. He wanted to crawl into bed with me “just for a little bit” so I could “hug away the bad dream.” I sleepily scooted over to let him in.

He curled up by my side and pulled my hand against his chest to hug it. As my hand felt his fluttering heart beat I had an instant flashback. To a time when he was just a tiny baby and I would lay my hand on his chest… my hand would cover his entire chest then… and feel his quick, small heart beat. A time when I could fix nearly everything in his life just by holding him.

He’s getting to an age now where I don’t have such super powers. My mama-hugs can still work some magic but not nearly as often. Still… last night… the magic was back. As he sighed and nestled into a spot that seemed made just for him. And I was instantly grateful for my boy, for all my babies, and their fluttering heart beats.

Children are a gift from the Lord; they are a reward from him. ~Psalm 127:3

One thought on “A fluttering flashback

Leave a Reply

