between training sets

I’m not training for anything right now. It’s weird. I’ve been training for one race or another since August. But now, no race in site. Nothing to dictate my workout schedule.

At first, I was looking forward to this break. The last long weeks of half marathon training were hard to squeeze in. I happily decided that I would take February off. I’ll still exercise of course but on my own schedule. Doing whatever feels good that day. Making sure I don’t completely lose my running base but really just mixing it up and staying healthy. I have an indoor tri this month – an event for which I don’t need to train but one that will do a good job of forcing me in the pool and on the bike once a week. And that’s it – no race on the horizon, nothing.

I’m six days into the training break and it’s starting to drive me crazy. I’m apparently not very good at taking a break. Every time I workout there’s a little voice in the back of my head that’s asking… what are we going to do this summer? What’s the next goal? Where’s the next accomplishment? The idea of an Olympic triathlon is zipping around my head. The idea of a fall half marathon (and fine, since I’m being honest, another one this spring) is lingering in my mind. The idea of a tri a month this summer is under consideration…

But for now, I’m trying to ignore it. I think the break from training is a good idea for a lot of reasons. I just need to keep convincing myself of that fact.

What’s next??

2 thoughts on “between training sets

  1. I started thinking about how after my second half at the end of April, I’ll have nothing major to train for and then I can just chill. Within minutes, I was already at Hal Higdon’s website looking at his intermediate and advanced 5k plans, because I want to work on a consistently faster 5k time. Apparently I also am bad at taking breaks–and I’m not even to that point yet!

Leave a Reply

