Food Thursday: White Chili

I’m going back to the archives for this recipe. I was looking & looking for it the other day and couldn’t find it. Did a search on my blog and it popped right up. This also gives me a chance to remind you that I’ve got a page of greatest hits recipes – and this one is top of the list.

This white chili is delicious, super easy and super healthy. It’s going on my menu list next week – it’s been too long since we’ve had it around here.

White Bean Chili
2 cups chopped, cooked chicken
1 15 oz can of white beans, rinsed & drained
16 oz of chicken stock or broth
1 cup of green salsa
1 9oz pkg of frozen corn
1/2 cup of chopped cilantro

Put everything but the cilantro in a pot. Bring to a boil and simmer for 20 minutes. If you need to simmer it a bit longer – add more broth. Stir in cilantro before serving.

Yummy Salsa
A spoonful of this on top of the chili makes the dish!

1 large tomato
2 medium green onions
1 jalapeno
1/2 tsp lime zest
2 TB lime juice (if I don’t have a fresh lime to zest, I’ve just added a splash more lime juice and it comes out fine)

Chop it up & mix it in a bowl. This tastes best if you do it a few hours early so the flavors have time to meld together.

One thought on “Food Thursday: White Chili

  1. That sounds pretty darn good – and a bit healthier than the white chicken chili I make that has a boat-load of cheese in it. I love salsa verde, too – I wonder if my family would try it?

Leave a Reply

