I’d like to tell you, but then I’d have to kill you

As my kids get older I’ve decided that there are certain things about their lives that I can’t share here. I’d like to but out of respect for their privacy in an increasingly online world I won’t.

So, I’d really like to tell you about K’s first official boy/girl party. It was like a bat mitzvah except the birthday girl wasn’t Jewish. Rented hall, decorations, dj, fancy outfits (it might have been slightly over the top) but I won’t talk about it or about the gaggle of girls that spent an hour here getting ready. (Though if you’re my friend on Facebook, don’t the girls look cute all dressed up??)

And, I’d also like to tell you how my lovely teenage child came home from the party with a sad outlook on life. But it’s not my story to tell so I won’t share. I will, however, say that boys can be so stupid.

And, I’d also like to tell you about my lovely middle child who is going through some heavy stuff for a 10 year old (almost 11!). But she’s already internalizing the heck out of these problems and if I wrote about them, she’d probably hide under her pillow forever. And so I shall remain silent. (Unless you’re one of my running friends, I might need to keep hashing this one out on some runs.)

Luckily the boy is far from caring if I tell you everything about him. I could probably tell you what color underwear he’s wearing today and he wouldn’t care.

Thank goodness I still have J. There will always be plenty of stories to share about this kid… at least for the next few years before he starts telling me it’s none of my business and certainly isn’t fit for publication on the Internet. But since he’s not there yet, there’s something that I have to tell you…

Last week I took K and J shopping. We were at Kohls and J was following his sister around the Juniors department. K picked out a pair of pants and asked J if he thought she could pull those off. His answer? “Maybe. My teacher Miss G. She wore pants like that today. She wore them with a green sweater and a necklace that hung down to here and pretty earrings and her bangs were pulled back but her hair was still long…. yeah, she pulled those pants off.”

Miss G is a student teacher (and indeed quite cute). The blush on my son’s face as he realized what he had just rambled off was too cute. As my husband noticed, maybe it’s time for a little Van Halen on my son’s ipod.

But SHHHHHH…. don’t tell him I told you.

3 thoughts on “I’d like to tell you, but then I’d have to kill you

  1. I am laughing so hard. Boys are so funny (except for whatever boy gave your daughter a sad outlook–he’s a jerk).
    By the way, Shane and I played that song during the garter toss at a wedding. I figured we’d better play it first before someone drank too much and requested it 20 times in a row. πŸ˜‰

  2. I have found that my youngest son, would be happy, in fact, to talk about what color his underwear is πŸ™‚

    And I totally hear you on the privacy thing. It is very much a part of why I am on a pseudo-hiatus from blogging.

    And the girls picture??? CUTE!!! but middle school boys??? DUMB!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

