Food Thursday: Bacon-wrapped asparagus (aka how to get your kids to eat asparagus)

Asparagus is one of my favorite vegetables, especially in the spring when it’s so fresh. I knew I wanted to serve some for my Easter brunch but wanted to find a recipe with a new twist. And wow did I find it. Even the kids who don’t normally eat asparagus loved this one. I think it was the hit of brunch and I can promise you it will make an appearance on my table again often.

Bacon-Wrapped Asparagus
All credit to HowSweetEats on Tasty Kitchen – one of my favorite recipe sources. My only change was to double her original recipe.
3 TB olive oil
1 TB sesame oil
3 TB brown sugar
1 tsp minced garlic
2 bunches of asparagus (approx 40 spears total)
8 slices of thick cut bacon
1 TB sesame seeds

1. Preheat oven to 400. Line a baking sheet with foil and place a wire rack on top. Spray the rack with non-stick spray.
2. In a small bowl mix together the oils, sugar & garlic.
3. Bunch together 4-5 spears and wrap tightly in bacon. Lay the bundle down on the rack. Repeat to make approx 8 bundles.

4. Using a pastry brush, spoon or fingers rub the spears & bacon with the oil mixture. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and roast for 40 minutes (or until bacon is well done).

Then watch them disappear! The sugar caramelizes the bacon… the bacon keeps the asparagus from getting overcooked… this combination is fantastic!

And here’s the original, easily printable version for four servings. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

