Parents just don’t understand

I volunteered at a school function this week that was all about poetry. I was assigned to open mic night in the library. Kids came in with their poems and read them at the microphone. If I had known that was going to be my job, I would have dressed all in black and led the crowd in snapping our applause. (There’s always next year!) At one point there was a lull in the student flow and a parent who was hanging around volunteered to fill the void.

She then launched into a word-for-word rap from Parents Just Don’t Understand. A song that was released in 1988. A song when Will Smith wasn’t known as Will Smith, oh no, he was the Fresh Prince with his trusty sidekick DJ Jazzy Jeff. A song – yes, I’ll admit it – that I could probably still sing rap along to if it were played on the radio. (So could you come on…. Here’s the situation, my parents went away on a week’s vacation, and they left the keys to their brand new porsche… you know you know it. My favorite line? “I picked up my car phone to perpetrate like I was talking.” These are classic lyrics, I tell you.)

ANYWAY… this mom knew it without the music, without any prompting. It was awesome. (In an hysterical, let’s bond because we went to high school in the era of bad hair kind of way.)

I came home and looked it up on iTunes. (Can you believe that song is $1.29?? It reeks of .99 if you ask me.) I’m seriously contemplating buying it because it makes me laugh just to hear it. And then the next time my kids roll their eyes at me and tell me I just don’t understand (a regular occurrence in this house) I can run to my ipod and play it loudly while rapping along and throwing out crazy hand gestures.

Oh I hope their friends are in the house when it happens. It will be epic.

6 thoughts on “Parents just don’t understand

Leave a Reply

